Weekend-Worthy Favorites: W3LL People, Matcha Tea Lattes, and More!

Hi all,

This isn’t going to be a super long post…my parents are coming to visit from England (yay!) so I’ve got a ton of cleaning up and work to do! (Fun).

However, I wanted to share with you a few of my weekend-worthy favorites, that I think…no, I KNOW you will enjoy learning about. A couple of beauty products, and a couple of lifestyle items. And, hold onto your hats, I won’t be mentioning Pacifica ONCE!!!! It’s a miracle! 🙂

  1. W3LL People Bio Brightener Stick in “Moonstone.” ($29.99)

There’s been so much hype around this product in the green beauty world, that I knew I had to give it a whirl. At the W3LL People website you can buy samples of this product for $1.50, but I went all out and bought the full product. I’m not sorry I did – I’ll be honest, I have never used highlighter before. EVER. A brief flirtation with ‘illuminating liquids’ made me look sparklier than Edward Cullen at a disco. So I wasn’t sure what to expect from this product, nor how to apply it. However, a few beauty blogs later I had learned how to ‘strobe’ with highlighter – apply it above cheekbones, along the bridge of the nose, the cupid’s bow, and bottom of the chin (and/or inner corners of eyes) – and I have to admit, the result was pretty awesome! What I like about this product is that it’s not sparkly or glittery – it’s a light shimmer, or perhaps ‘glisten’ is a better word. No Edward Cullen here! It’s really easy to apply too; you just dab a bit on your finger, or you could even just apply it straight from the stick. I also wear it sometimes in place of eyeshadow. Big score. I also bought the much touted bronzing stick as a sample, and it’s pretty good – I’m not sure I like it as much yet, but I’ll give it a few more uses before reporting back.

2. One Love Organics Skin Savior Multi-Tasking Wonder Balm ($49.00)

Another darling of the green beauty world, I received this in a subscription box quite a while ago – I can’t actually remember which one 🙂  I’ve loved it from the get-go, but I think I love it more now that my skin is going through a dry spell. I apply this balm to my face either as a night cream or after showering. It’s got a light, citrus scent which isn’t my favorite ever, but it’s totally OK. When I learned the price of this I almost had a mild heart attack, and I doubt I’ll be repurchasing because 50 bucks is a lot to spend on a skincare product. Sob. Sob.

3. Rishi Green Tea Matcha ($6.30 at Vitacost)

For those of you who love those Starbucks iced green tea lattes, I kid you not, this tastes EXACTLY THE SAME and is like a gazillion times less expensive. The ingredients are awesosme – just matcha powder and cane sugar. I drink this iced – you just add a couple of teaspoons to cold milk, stir around, and add ice. To avoid lumps you can dissolve the powder in a little hot water before adding the milk. Delicious with almond milk too!

 

4. Headspace App and Podcast

I’ve been using the Headspace meditation app on my phone for a while now, and I really enjoy it. You can try a 10 session foundation course for free, and if you like it a year’s subscription is, if I recall correctly, $90.00. (I could be wrong!) which allows you to access all the courses. Each course is a progressive series of meditation sessions (you can choose between 10 minute, 15 minute and 20 minute sessions) and animated videos that teach you different meditation techniques. The themes are wide-ranging, from depression to balance. I also love how the company is evolving: they’re always adding to their library of courses as we speak: new additions include meditation for pregnancy, self-esteem and mindful eating. I personally enjoy the voice of the teacher, Andi Puddicombe (check out his awesome TED talk on mindfulness below!) and my only beef with Headspace is that once you embark on a course you have to finish it or you’re back to square one. Sometimes I’d like to pause a course and try another before returning to the first one. Oh well!

3 Comments

thoughts?

