Pacifica Aquarian Gaze Mascara and Dreamlit Under Eye Brightener Review!

Pacifica has been one of my favorite brands since starting on my green beauty journey. It’s accessible (Target, au naturellement) relatively cheap (compared to many green/organic brands) and the packaging has this amazing art deco vintage thing going on that makes me want to crack open an Agatha Christie, dig out my flapper costume, and smoke cheroots.

So I was very happy to try out Pacifica’s Dreamlit Under Eye Brightener in “Bare.” ($15.00)

I’m really glad I’ve finally found a decent mineral concealer! This stuff does the trick, and best of all it doesn’t sink into fine lines or look dry. I put this down to my favorite of ingredients which is – as you know by now – coconut oil. This concealer also contains caffeine and reflective minerals, and I think it does a really good job of banishing dark circles. As an added bonus this looks nice on eyelids for a natural eyeshadow, or in the corners of your eye for a wide-awake look. However, it wouldn’t work for covering up zits or scars because it’s too shimmery. Pacifica also sells this in a pinker more translucent shade called “Dreamlight,” which looks more like a bog-standard highlighter than a concealer. Plus you’re then buying a product strangely named “Dreamlit Dreamlight.” 🙂 It’s a shame there aren’t more shades for different skin tones, but for fair skin the “Bare” shade is lovely. However, if you’re after a deeper tone, matte or full coverage, be aware that this ain’t that.

I also bought the Aquarian Gaze Water Resistant Long-Lash Mineral Mascara in “Abyss.” ($14.00) I was excited about this one because my Suncoat Sugar Based mascara is, well, let’s not put too fine a point on it. It’s crap.  Would I have finally found the mineral mascara of my dreams? Weeelll, not really. I guess the crazy long name sounds like it’s overcompensating for something, so maybe I should have been wary…

Though it’s had good reviews, the best thing about this mascara is the color – it’s a deep, deep black and really makes your lashes pop. But it doesn’t really separate lashes that well, nor does it really lengthen. At least, not in comparison to non-mineral mascaras that I’ve used up to this point by Benefit, Too-Faced and Smashbox. It’s a step up from Tarte’s – I can’t stand Tarte mascara because it has a wand with REALLY scratchy bristles, and it’s definitely a step up from the sticky sugar-based Suncoat. But it does tend to flake a bit during the day, and weirdly makes my lashes feel stiff. Also, I just discovered, that it contains one of my ingredient no-no’s: Disodium EDTA (considered low risk by EWG, but I’d rather have no risk thanks!) To be honest, you may as well just use a regular brand mascara as use this. I’ve heard that the best mineral mascara is W3LL People’s, so maybe I’ll just have to bite the bullet and splash out on that once this tube is used up.

How about you? Any mineral mascara joy?

thoughts?

