Top Tip: Use Coconut Oil When Applying Mineral Eyeshadow…!

Hi Friends,

Today I want to share a little beauty secret with you. I don’t think it’s life-changing or mind-altering, but it has certainly made me a little bit happier when putting on makeup (I don’t ask for much).

So, when I first got into green beauty I bought a few loose mineral eyeshadows…you know the ones that come in a little pot? I love them, but here’s the thing – they’re messy, they’re hard to apply, and the powder often drops onto my cheeks and under my eyes despite my best efforts. It’s especially difficult to apply shimmery, glittery powders.

I experimented with applying with my fingers (smeary and uneven application) a brush (disaster! Powder everywhere!) and wetting my finger to pick up more shadow so it wouldn’t drop everywhere (back to smeary and uneven application).

But there is a happy ending to my story.

Because, if you dip a finger into solidified (room temperature) coconut oil and THEN into the powder, it glides on like a dream – no creases, no weird uneven application, and no glitter on my cheeks making me look like a ten year old at a birthday party.

Hooray!

Try it. And let me know if it made you smile.

Liv 🙂

7 Comments

    1. It seems to! It’s a bit like using a primer. I don’t know if it stays on as long as it would with a primer, but it definitely stays put as long as loose shadow does without – if not a bit longer, perhaps because it ‘sticks’ a bit better. Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

thoughts?

