#BlackFridayFail – What I bought (and only slightly regret buying).

Every year I smugly tell friends and family that I will NOT be participating in the Black Friday madness, and every year I totally, totally do. I call this the Black Friday Fail (hashtag optional). It all started when I checked my email this morning and found about 100 emails from various companies advertising their Black Friday deals. I think you’d have to be Ghandi to resist.

I was very discriminating, however…

The best online deal, at least for me, was the Pacifica ‘$10.00 off’ deal and free shipping (if you spend $50.00) plus the free gift box. I’m buying my sister a little natural beauty gift package for Christmas filled with items I love, so I was happy to get the box as a freebie, and of the goodies below I bought two  – one for me, one for her…

I bought:

– 7 free topcoat and basecoat – “Gloss” (I’ve heard good things about this product, and I like that it does double-duty). $9.00

– Aquarian Gaze Water-Resistant Long Lash Mascara (this has had amazing reviews, so I’m really eager to try it. I still haven’t found a natural mascara I like). $14.00

– Island Vanilla Solid Perfume (you know my love for this; I got another for my sis) $9.00 (only a bit miffed that it was $8.00 at Sprouts today!

Aside from the online bonanza, there was plenty on offer in bricks-and-mortar-land. I didn’t buy much natural beauty stuff in stores. Instead I went a bit clothes-crazy. The best deal I found was at NYC Company – a black cotton jumpsuit with 70% off, and then I got a $10.00 off ‘lottery ticket’ in store – so instead of paying $70.00 for it, I got it for a song at $11.00!! I also got some sweaters at Target (40% off) and a pair of boots at Broadway Shoes for 40% off. However, I did pop into T.J Maxx. Here I must pull out the trumpets and play a fanfare…have you ever perused the natural beauty product selection at T.J Maxx? It’s stellar! I mean, amazing. Some day soon I will dedicate a whole post to it. In the meantime, I’ll just tell you what I bought…prickly pear seed oil at $9.99 for my sister (40% off), Juice Organics hair conditioner for $5.99 (yes, really!) and the best of the bunch…THIS!

This little beaut. is Deep Steep’s Honeydew and Spearmint Moisture Stick. It retails for $5.95 on their website, but I got it for $1.99. It’s awesome – anything with coconut oil is awesome IMO, because of the dewy finish and moisture it provides – and it’s super portable…perfect for traveling. You can use it as a lipbalm or just for general moisturizing.

Well, that’s it! I have a twinge of regret when I think about the money spent and the sad truth that Thanksgiving has become a consumer’s dream slash nightmare…but then I shrug, because a) I scored some deals and b) I had a wonderful Turkey day with my family, and truly feel deeply grateful for all that I have. I don’t want to break the cheese-o-meter but last night my hubby and I shared all that we were most thankful for about each other and our relationship. Preeeettty cheesy!! But, I loved it!

How about you? Did you score any deals? Did you have  a good Thanksgiving?

4 Comments

  1. Great post! TJ Maxx is the best for Deep Steep products. They also have products from Andalou Naturals, which makes my current favorite moisturizer. Now, I’m off to the Pacifica website. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply

thoughts?

