W3LL People Altruist Satin Mineral Foundation Review!

I have to admit that for me dipping a toe into the world of foundation powders was a huge ‘green beauty’ step. Maybe I even deserve some kind of beauty bravery medal?! (note: Liv is being intentionally shallow and glib for comic effect).

The truth is that since I was a teenager experimenting with Covergirl pressed foundation powders (remember those? invariably cracked when bought, with the tiniest little mirror ever) powder and I have not been friends. I know, I know – cue tiniest ever violin playing. But I do feel like I’m missing out. Perhaps it’s because my skin tends to dryness, but powder always seems to leave a fine layer on my skin that looks ‘dusty’ (for want of a better description) and just kind of fake.

I won’t say that W3LL People Altruist Satin Mineral Foundation ($31.50) has changed my feelings about powders. I will say that it’s the best of the bunch I have tried (although I do love Bare Minerals’ translucents).

My second bb medal (is this a thing now? Can I create a hashtag for it?) is awarded for buying the lightest shade ‘fair pink’ sight unseen; no testers. I was pretty confident that this would be my shade, seeing as my nickname at school was ghost-face. However, it may have been a tad light, even for me. I’m not sure if this is why it doesn’t look as perfect on my skin as I’d hoped, or because the finely-milled texture is actually a bit thicker than I was looking for. However, unless I apply it sparingly, it does look a bit ‘caked on.’ Smooth going on? Yes. Good and even coverage? Yes. I just can’t load up the brush the way I do with translucent powder. Perhaps I need to buff more? People tell me it’s all about the buffing..so I’ll keep experimenting. Right now, though, I tend to rely more on my Yes to Grapefruit CC cream than I do this.

Anyway, here’s some info. from W3LL People’s website. And I will sail past the description of its formula as “supernatural” with nary a flicker of eyelid.

“The next generation mineral foundation for those with good intentions. Altruist instantly creates more radiant and healthy looking skin with weightless, flawless coverage in complexion perfect tones. The satin-like, supernatural formula moves and breathes with skin thanks to feather-light, triple-milled pigments that feel creamy smooth, with no creasing. Organic aloe nourishes and rejuvenates skin while zinc and titanium protect against environmental damage.

FREE FROM: Artificial preservatives, parabens, chemicals, dyes, fragrance, silicone, dimethicone, pthalates, sulphates, petroleum, talc, bismuth oxychloride, nanoparticles and bad mojo. Made in USA with love. Not tested on animals or robots”

thoughts?

