Weekend-Worthy: Beauty Treats, Good Eats, and More I’m Loving This Week!

Hi Friends,

Here’s my weekly round-up of worthy treats, eats, and more. And I’ve added a new category: stuff I’d happily throw onto the reject pile of life (‘cos we all need a grumble now and then).

Weekend-Worthy

1. Lush Bubblegum Lip Scrub ($9.95)

bubblegum

For wintry dry lips I’ve really been enjoying this soda-pop-pink sugar lip scrub that tastes like cotton candy. It’s good for lips, but I wouldn’t recommend eating it, despite the sugary goodness! I also use this on my nails to smooth away nail-polish stains and dryness. A bit pricey, yes, but I’m addicted to Lush’s ‘sweet’ range (including their Christmas ‘Snow Fairy’ shower gel…yum!)

2. ‘Life On Mars’ T.V Show (British version)

For ages and ages people kept telling me, ‘oh, you must watch Life on Mars, it’s so amazing!’ To me the premise sounded kind of dumb: Sam, a present-day cop, is hit by a car and wakes up in Manchester, 1973. He has to figure out if he’s in a coma, or really back in time, and how he can get back. When I finally got around to watching the show though (on Hulu Plus I believe it was) I was blown away by how it got to me emotionally…tackling themes of family, justice, and what’s worth fighting for, it’s hard-hitting in every way, surprisingly nostalgic and sentimental, funny, and the acting is top-notch, particularly from Philip Glenister playing the foul-mouthed yet strangely lovable ‘Gov.’ The final episode had me bawling (no spoilers!) and it’s still stuck in my mind, rather like the David Bowie music woven through the series. The show was so successful in the U.K it spawned an equally successful spin-off series, “Ashes to Ashes.”

Please note, this show isn’t to be confused with the truly terrible U.S. version, the ending of which was so comical it might just win worst final episode of all time (Sam wakes up from a coma to find himself on a spaceship. It was all a virtual reality game gone awry. I kid you not – that’s the actual ending).

3. Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Bar with Caramel and Black Sea Salt ($1.99)

It’s 70% cacao, gluten-free, and amazingly delicious. Not to mention the cute packaging. What’s not to love here?

dark chocolate

4. One more beauty find for you. I’m really enjoying the fall color and smooth glossy goodness of Juice Beauty’s Reflecting Lipgloss in “Fig.” ($14.99). I wish it had a bit more staying power, but I suppose glosses aren’t designed to stick around forever (no pun intended). The color is gorgeous – a sort of raisiny-caramel-orange, with some shimmer. It feels very moisturizing too, due to the sesame oil:

  • Organic blueberry, raspberry, acai and goji berries provide beautiful, antioxidant and omega-rich pigments that protects the lips from signs of aging.
  • Organic sesame seed oil hydrates and conditions the lips.
  • Natural mineral reflectors provide a rich shimmer.
  • Vitamin E restores, heals and repairs the lips.
  • Organic agave and sweet orange natural sweeteners provide great aromas.

fig

O.K, now for my reject-list. Here are the things I am so OVER this week!!!

1. Kim Kardashian’s bum.

I don’t care, O.K? And moreover…I don’t care.

2. Coffee.

I think it gives me headaches, it makes me anxious, and when I drink it by the end of the day I feel exhausted due to the crash. Lord, I love it, but I know it does me wrong…I’ll have to buy some decaf.

3. People who don’t care (unless it’s about Kim’s bum).

It really makes me a grumpy person when people either don’t care or pretend not to care about important things happening in the world, be they political or social justice issues. Is it bravado? Is it narcissism? I’m a positive person who tends to see the good in most people, so it angers me. Erm, is that a paradox?

4. Women’s magazines.

I used to read them, but since switching to green beauty they hold less and less appeal for me. The last one I read had an article in which a respected beauty authority talked about how she only had faith in beauty products full of chemicals “because they’re the ones that work.” I didn’t throw the mag. across the room, but I felt like it!

Enough of my whining. Now, go have an awesome weekend!!

Liv:)

2 Comments

thoughts?

