Is It The Bee’s Knees? The Raw Honey Cleansing Method, Tried & Tested!

Hi Friends,

I’ve been recovering from a nasty cold, and after two days of pretty much no-skin TLC I was greeted back at work today with the words we all dread to hear: ‘you look really tired’ and ‘you should go home and rest!’ Truth is, I do look pretty peaky (at 34 years old I guess you can’t afford a couple of days of just splashing water on your face!) But luckily I have a solution…

..Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been experimenting on and off with the raw honey cleansing method, something I’ve been reading a lot about on other natural beauty blogs.

We all know that honey is naturally moisturizing, soothing, and generally good for skin, but can skincare really be as simple as slapping some honey on our faces every day and washing it off? I was skeptical.

But if there’s one thing I’ve learned since starting this journey into green beauty, it’s to not be surprised at the effectiveness of pure ingredients. It makes me wonder how I ever got sucked into the lure of L’Oreal or Olay ads when simple, natural products have worked so well. It seems TOO easy, right? Until you start to consider that maybe those companies are just overcomplicating things needlessly. Anyway, I’ll get off my soap box!

So why use honey?

1. Honey is antibacterial and probiotic. It helps prevent breakouts and is great for acne sufferers. Manuka honey is especially healing for acne sufferers.

2. Honey balances oily skin and moisturizers dry.

3. Honey is so gentle it’s fine for people with eczema or rosacea (note: a few people are allergic to the pollen, so if honey makes your skin itch just watch it off).

4. Honey smells delish.

Using raw honey to cleanse is simple. It won’t remove makeup, so do that first (I use jojoba oil or S.W Skincare Basics Makeup remover). Then take about a teaspoon of raw honey and mix it with a little warm water. Rub all over face, and wash off (I use a muslin cloth to remove). Or you can leave it on longer for a deeper cleanse.

honey

And yes, it should be raw honey as opposed to ‘pure’ or just ‘organic.’ Preferably you’re looking for raw AND organic. I use white honey as it’s very smooth and easy to apply.

It’s been working for me, leaving my skin feeling really soft. So I better crack open the jar before work tomorrow, and show my poor old dehydrated skin some love…!

How about you? Have you tried the raw honey cleansing method? Did it work?

Liv 🙂

2 Comments

  1. I’ve heard great things about this as well. However, as someone with sensitive skin and adult acne, I’ve wondered if it would even be worth a shot. I think I will definitely try it out now! Thanks for the tips!

    Like

    Reply

thoughts?

