Weekend-Worthy Favorites…Enjoy over Coffee!

fall favoritesSit down, relax, make yourself some tea or coffee…it’s the weekend, thank goodness, so I thought I’d compile a little list of weekend-worthy favorites for you to enjoy reading as you wind down…I hope to make this a regular feature, ready for your perusal on Saturday morn!

As you can see quite clearly from the largest picture, a bag of popcorn has become my crazy munching obsession. Not just any popcorn, you understand, but Angie’s Spooky Candy Corn Popcorn (which I bought at Sprouts, but I’m sure you can buy online).

Folks, I am a huge popcorn lover, and have tried many different popcorns. But this is the BEST I’ve ever had. Salty, sweet, with an orange caramel-icious drizzle, and it actually tastes like candy corn. Halloween may be over, but long may this live in our hearts.

I shall now proceed from bottom-left!

That cute little bottle is S.W Skincare Basics Makeup Remover. Makeup remover isn’t something I’d normally get very excited about. O.K, make that ever. But this stuff is fantastic. It gets rid of makeup, leaves my skin soft (no more red patches on the outer corners of my eyes!) and even doubles as a moisturizer. The perfect blend of olive, jojoba and sweet almond oil does the job without causing the dreaded ‘blurry eyes’ syndrome that pure oil can. Rejoice!

Next up in the orange tube (kinda hard to see- sorry!) is Zion Health’s Orange-Vanilla Body Lotion. I reviewed this product just a few days ago, and it’s been my go-to all-around skincare item; perfect for body and face, it’s light and non-greasy, and smells like how you’d imagine the offspring of a marshmallow and a shot of Grand Marnier might smell (weird thought, but you catch my drift).

The gorgeous lipstick you see before you is Red Apple Lipstick in the shade Boys ‘N Berries. The picture makes it appear more bright pink than it actually is. It’s more of a violet-mauve shade, with silver sparkles. Guys, this lipstick ROCKS for fall! It’s the perfect not-too-dark, not-too-bright fall color, and I’ve been wearing it pretty much every day since my hair got dyed purple(ish). I’ll be doing a review of my three Red Apple lipsticks and I’ll talk more about the formula then, but this is the one I’ve been wearing the most.

Bottom-right is a tube of Jersey Shore Sun’s (no, not THAT Jersey Shore!) Mongongo Anti-Aging Lip Conditioner. This lipbalm is really moisturizing so great for the cooler weather, not shiny like my beloved Mi-Mi lipbalm, but more waxy, and is all-natural, made with exotic sounding butters and tangerine and ginger essential oils. I put it on every night before bed, and my smackers are soft and lipstick-ready in the morning. Great stuff.

Aha! Two non-beauty/food related items! Sarah Water’s “The Paying Guests,” is a cracking story. It’s a tale about love, how far we will go for love….and how far is too far? The novel is set in post-war London, centering around a young woman, Frances, who lives in a rambling old house with her mother and is forced to spend her days playing housekeeper as they can’t afford a maid. Enter, the paying guests – Lillian, and her husband, Leonard. A close and forbidden bond forms between Frances and Lillian, which threatens to undo them all. The title has a double-meaning. Lillian and Leonard are paying guests as lodgers, but they may also have to pay a price for the secrets in their lives and their attempts to conceal them. It’s a spellbinding, riveting read that had me hooked from page one, and although some people might worry that they can’t connect with the love affair between Frances and Lillian, I say…love is love! I enjoyed the love story immensely, and could definitely connect with their feelings for each other, despite being heterosexual. So don’t let that aspect of the novel put you off…

Onwards, and literally upwards, with the movie Interstellar. Wow. I mean, WOW! Despite a slightly overly neat ending, this movie about astronauts trying to find a habitable planet in another solar system is epic in every sense of the word, handling themes of love, family, and what it means to be human with sensitivity and elegance. I loved it.

Wild Honey Apothecary’s Pumpkin Cocoa Honey Mud  (made with cocoa and raw honey) is a divinely delicious face mask. I’ve been using it more and more, and each time I love it more and more. It just smells so darn tasty.

I also love the smell of Flo & Theo’s Lemon Orchard Whipped Body Butter. This lemony body butter is all-natural, made with shea butter, and is very thick. This has proved a godsend for the chapped skin on my feet and my dry hands. If you’re looking for a really thick body butter for winter, this will do the trick.

Hope you enjoyed my Friday round-up! Have a wonderful weekend!

Liv 🙂

thoughts?

