Zion Health Products Review: Getting Down & Dirty with Montmorillonite Clay!

Hello Friends!

The folks over at Zion Health, a vegan body care company based in San Francisco, kindly sent me a few goodies to review, and I was more than happy to oblige. And, yes, these are my honest opinions of the products!

One of the cool things about this company is that everything they make contains calcium montmorillonite clay, a clay indigenous to Africa and the Americas.

What are the benefits of montmorillonite clay I hear you ask? (as well you might!)

Well, I thought I would do a little research so that you can better appreciate how awesome this little-known ingredient is!

There are lots of different clays, which are all known for their ability to tone, tighten, exfoliate, and draw out impurities. There are three primary groups:

* Montmorillonite Clays

* Illite Clays

* Kaolinite Clays

We are probably most familiar with the last category, which is commonly used in beauty products and face masks. Illite clays are antibacterial, and are more light and ‘fluffy.’

But montmorillonite clays are pretty special. They have real sucking power! They pull out all the nasty oils, toxins, and impurities from the skin, so are awesome for detoxing. They also help to cleanse pores, so are suitable for oily skin, and are full of minerals and trace elements that nourish the skin. You might have heard of rhassoul clay and how amazing it is – well, this clay is also in the montmorillonite family.

After learning all of this I wanted some of this wonder-clay on my skin!

Zion Health sent me three products, one of which (a cute little bar of Ancient Minerals clay soap) was quickly unwrapped and used before I snapped a picture! To be honest, I don’t get on with soap. It always makes my skin feel sticky, and I’ve never found a brand I like. So no real disappointment to me that this soap also left me with tree-sap skin. The other two products were awesome though: their Glacial MudMask (left) and their Mineral Moisture Daily Lotion in Orange Vanilla.

Zion health
Let’s start with the Mudmask. No scent, and a pleasing green color! The color of those facemasks women wear in 1960s sitcoms and everyone laughs because, ha ha, she’s green! I smeared on a thin layer and left it to set for about 15 minutes, during which time it tightened on the skin, as any clay mask should. When I washed it off, presto! Baby soft skin and noticeably smaller pores.

This mask contains not only the brand’s trademark montmorillonite clay, but also glacial marine clay and kaolin clay. The marine clay is particularly interesting as it is  “…naturally derived from the erosion caused by the movement and melting of glaciers. The eroded minerals contain fine particles consisting of large amounts of nutrient rich trace minerals.”

This particular clay is deemed to have anti-aging properties – good for my dry, 34 year old skin!

I’ve used the mask about three times, and my skin overall looks clearer and feels softer than it did before I started using it. You can’t really ask for more than that.

Even better the price of this mask is fantastic: $14.99 for 4oz (the tube shown in the picture). Buy it here!

Onto the orange vanilla daily lotion.

Yes, you heard me right…ORANGE VANILLA!!

I am a See’s candy fiend, and my favorite candy by far is the chocolate orange cream. This lotion smells a bit like that. It’s DIVINE. And it’s not a very common scent, which it ought to be. It’s got that creamy comfort of the vanilla, with just a touch of orange tang. Dreamy.

I’ve been using this every day since I received it, and I even use it on my face as a cleanser or moisturizer. It’s specifically designed to be used on both face and body, which is fantastic if you’re looking for an all-in-one kind of product. This does it all – removes makeup, moisturizers, cuticle cream, you name it. If I use it at night, my skin looks fresh and smooth in the morning. And it goes on really light, absorbs easily, is non-greasy, and is basically just brilliant. I can’t get enough of the stuff, and I will definitely be repurchasing this when I run out.

Aside from the montmorillonite clay and smelling like a creamsicle, it’s chock-full of other yummy ingredients:

A Botanical infusion of Lavender, Chamomile, and Yarrow in purified water, Calcium Montmorillonite Clay, Sunflower Oil, Octyl Palmitate (Coconut Fatty Acid), Sweet Almond Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cupuacu Butter, Stearic Acid (Natural Coconut Fatty Acid), Shea Butter, Cetyl Alcohol, Mineral Water, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate (Coconut & Glutamic Acid), Benzyl Alcohol, Essential Oil Blend, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Capric Caprylic Triglycerides (Natural Coconut Fatty oil), Tocopherols (Vitamin E from Soy), Sodium Carbomer, Phenoxyethanol (Rose Essence), Ethyl Hexyl Glycerin (Glycerin & Coconut Oil), Essential Oil Fragrance of Vanilla and Citrus Peels.

My picture is of the  2oz size, but you can also buy a 4oz or 8oz size. The largest size (8oz) is a ridiculously reasonable $10.49. Buy it here.

Overall, I was impressed with the purity of the ingredients, the effectiveness of the products, and the incredible value for money. Explore Zion Health’s ‘Ancient Clay’ brand further by visiting their website at http://adamaminerals.com/

Thanks for reading!

Liv 🙂

2 Comments

thoughts?

