Petit Vour October ’14 Review…and Purple-ish Hair!

Hi friends!

First off (and, of course, most importantly!) what do you think of my new hair color? I don’t think the bright coral cardigan really does it any favors, but you get the idea. I was just tired of my regular brown and wanted something more cold-weather appropriate. The dye is Aveda brand…not chemical-free, but better than most. And if you’re interested to know, I’m wearing Red Apple lipstick in Boys ‘N Berry (though it doesn’t really show up here).

purple hairNow onto other more important matters. Finally, my Petit Vour review!! I know it’s now November and this is shockingly late, but a) I’m lazy and b) I’m lazy. Honestly, I was just lazy about taking the photo! But here we go:

petit vour octoberThe theme for October was “Beauty Thrillers,” but, as we all know, the theme is just an excuse for a pretty insert card 🙂

The main disappointment in this box for me was the Pacifica Devocean Natural Lipstick (top left). The formula seemed nice, and I’m a big Pacifica fan, but the color was atrocious on me. It was called “Tenderheart,” and was a kind of nude-brown color that made me look like a plague victim. It’d probably look quite nice on people with darker skin tones than mine though. (full-size $14.00)

I really liked the Flo and Theo Body Butter (top right) It was a gorgeous lemony scent, made with cocoa and shea butter. Very thick – a little goes a long way, but I appreciated the whipped texture which made it paradoxically light as well, and fun to use. (full-size $28.00)

I LOVE LOVE LOVE the S.W. Basics makeup remover (bottom right). I’ve been struggling to find a decent makeup remover, and for a while I tried using my pure jojoba oil. However, it made my eyes go all blurry! This doesn’t, even though it’s only made with three oils: olive, jojoba, and sweet almond. Perhaps it’s the formulation, or the types of oils used, but it works a lot better than my pure oil experiment. (full-size $14-28.00)

Finally, another dud: the Forager Botanicals Eau de Parfum in the scent “Nectar” (bottom left). The scent just didn’t appeal to me, as it seemed kind of alcohol smelling. (full-size: a whopping $98.00). I’ll be sticking to my Pacifica Island Vanilla Solid Perfume thank you very much!
Well, folks, that’s it from me. I’ll be back soon with a Red Apple lipsticks review, and my Liebster award acceptance blurb!

Thanks for following, commenting etc! And now you can follow me on Twitter as well!

Liv 🙂

6 Comments

  1. lol maybe it’s called Tenderheart because plague victims become tender-hearted!? LOL I laughed when I read what you said there, lol. Sorry you had some duds 😦 But props on the purple hair! I want to dye mine purple so bad I’m just not brave enough. I think it’s very pretty on you though!

    Like

    Reply

thoughts?

