Angels & Demons Pt. 3: Lush’s “Snow Angel” and Lovinah’s Coffee Bean-illa Body Scrub

Angels and Demons

Welcome to my last Halloweeny post!

First, the “angelic” product. And it is, literally, an angel!

After a long, tiring day I was keen to come home and soak my aching bones in a bath with Lush’s “Snow Angel,” which I bought yesterday. Let me tell you, it’s delicious. Half bath melt, half bath bomb, it fizzes, but is also very moisturizing as it’s made with cocoa butter. The scent is marzipan with a touch of floral (gardenia, Sherlock deduces from the ingredients list). It left my skin feeling silky soft, and sparkly (lots of golden shimmer!)

snow angel

The downside is, although it’s vegan it is not made with all-natural ingredients, and contains sulfates and the anonymous ‘fragrance’ which I try to avoid. Here’s the ingredients list:
Sodium Bicarbonate , Fair Trade Organic Cocoa Butter (Theobroma Cacao) , Citric Acid , Laureth 4 , Cream of Tartar (Potassium bitartrate) , Sodium Laureth Sulfate , Fragrance , Benzoin Resinoid (Styrax tonkinensis pierre) , Rose Absolute (Rosa damascena) , Cassie Absolute (Acacia farnesiana) , Gardenia Extract (Gardenia jasminoides) , Cornflour (Zea mays) , Water (Aqua) , Lauryl Betaine , *Benzyl Benzoate , *Benzyl Cinnamate , *Cinnamal , Yellow 5 Lake , Potassium aluminium silicate , Titanium Dioxide , Iron Oxides , Synthetic Fluorphlogopite , Silica

On balance though, it’s not too bad, and I’m not a crazy purist about these things…so I say go for it! (especially if you love marzipan). It’s $7.95 and you can buy it online here. It’s a Christmas product, so will likely not be available after December.

My “Demon” product next!

I received Lovinah’s Coffee Bean-illa body scrub as a sample, and I wasn’t too sure about it at the time as it had a strong coffee scent. “Well, Liv,” I hear you say…”that’s because it’s a coffee scented scrub made with real coffee so what are you complaining about?”

I don’t know. I just like to complain, but also I thought it was a bit overpowering smell-wise. Having tried it since, though, I really like it. I don’t smell vanilla much, but along with the coffee (the ‘scrub’ is coffee seed power) a cocoa scent (another ingredient), and as a scrub it’s very effective. Not too scratchy and intense; just right. I also love that it’s really ‘pure’ in terms of ingredients (see below). It’s quite dry so you need a lot of water to paste-i-fy it, but then it goes on nicely.

coffee scrub 2

If I have any issue with it, it’s that it’s pricey ($45.00 per tub!). Here are some ingredient details from their website:

Key ingredients:

Ethiopian Coffee – Rich in Antioxidants, anti-inflammatory agent and deeply exfoliates dry skin for silky smooth feel

Nigerian Shea Butter – Organic Shea Butter softens, moisturizes and soothes dry skin

Ethiopian Cocoa Beans – Cocoa is richer than red wine or green tea in antioxidants content. Flavonols found in cocoa are antioxidants that boost collagen production,  fight free radicals and increase blood flow  to the skin

Madagascar Vanilla Beans – Antibacterial properties is beneficial for the treatment of acne and Vanilla bean is rich in antioxidants which prevent and reverse skin damage caused by free radicals.

Malawi Raw Cane Sugar –High level of Vitamin C, magnesium, antioxidants and an exceptionally high level ofomega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, as well as vitamin A and Vitamin E.

INGREDIENTS:

Handcrafted with love, Saccharumofficinarum (pure Sugarcane) ,Aloe Vera Extract (Aloe barbadensis) ,DecylGlucoside, OleaEuropaea (olive) oil, Shea Butter (ButyrospermumParkii), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) seed oil, Ethiopian Coffee Seed powder, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed powder, Vanilla Planifolia Bean Extract, MenthaPiperita Leaf Extract, Glycerine, Tocopherol (Vitamin E) Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Citric Acid

You can buy it at their website…click here.

I hope you enjoyed my Halloweeny themed posts! I have so many reviews lined up, but I know I need to figure out a posting schedule so I’m not posting every day…ugh. But tomorrow I will finally get my Petit Vour review up!

Liv 🙂

thoughts?

