vegan cuts beauty subscription box review: september 2014 unboxing

My first Vegan Cuts box arrived today! Woo-hoo! Here’s a piccie – apologies for the slightly blurry factor. I’m new to all this!

vegan cuts 2I was excited for this first unboxing, having heard great things about the company. I paid 20 bucks, and I was keen to see if I made my money back!

I haven’t tried all of the items yet, but here are my first thoughts on the selection and value:

1. Suncoat mascara (full-size! worth $14.99)

Wow- so excited to get a 100% all-natural mascara! I tried this, and it works, but does it compare to my Smashbox brand mascara? Er, nope. It’s actually made with sugar, and it does feel a bit sticky on. However, it does the job OK and it is nice to know that my lashes aren’t covered in chemicals.

2. Lunatick Cosmetic Lab Eyeshadow

You can see from my piccie that the sample size is pretty decent (although that glass jar is only about a quarter full). I tried this, and I love it! It’s a loose powder that is talc free. My color is a beautiful shimmer bronze with little silver glitter specks. We’ll have to see about staying power, but it looked beautiful upon first application. Score!

3. Palmetto Dermo Collagen Booster and Restoration Serum

Teeny tiny sample, but serum goes a long way. I haven’t tried it yet, but it smells a bit odd, and is kind of oily. I will have to report back on how good it is!

4. Derma E Microdermabrasion Scrub

Deluxe sample worth $16.00, and it smells like lemons. Yummy. This contains dead sea salt and volcanic sand. We’ll see!

5. Only Goodness Inside deodorant

I haven’t tried this yet, and I have to say, I’m skeptical. A previous flirtation with natural deodorants in the past was shortlived, to say the least. However, if it does work I’ll be thrilled; I’d much rather not have to rely on aluminum to keep me smelling luuurrveely.

Overall, I feel like the value is great, and I’m excited to try some new brands. The box also contained a coupon for a free shower gel from Shear Miracle Organics and 25% off any Palmetto Dermo brand. My favorite products thus far are the eyeshadow and the face scrub, but I may be pleasantly surprised by the others.

thoughts?

