yes to…yes to cucumber soothing daily calming moisturizer!

My quest to replace my old chemical-laden beauty products continues! I have tried a bunch of things recently, and will post reviews of them soon, PLUS (very excited) my Vegan Cuts beauty subscription should be arriving in the next couple of days. EEK! Stay tuned! Not only this, but I’ve been accumulating recipes for DIY beauty products, and will be experimenting with some next weekend when I have more time. This weekend was largely eaten up by work, and blogging at my other site. It’s about art and life (my PhD is in art history) and if you love either of those things, do check it out! http://www.dialthelobster.wordpress.com

Anyway, let’s get to the point, shall we?

My stand-by daily moisturizer for years has been Clinique’s. It’s a weird banana yellow color, and you’d think that would have put me off, but no, because up until now I’ve been a foolish sausage when it comes to buying things. I’m not blaming past-Liv. It’s just that once you’ve peeked behind the curtain, there’s no going back to Kansas! Do any of you folks get weird urges to go up to people in the make-up aisles and proselytize at them? I know – it’s bad!

Anyway, Yes to Carrots may not be the most exciting brand in the world, but it’s readily available, and not too expensive. After checking out the ingredients labels of all their moisturizers (which took a while; I did get some funny looks from a Target employee) I decided to get the cucumber soothing daily calming. I don’t have sensitive skin, but the ingredients really appealed to me. Here’s some info, shamefully plagiarized from the Yes to Carrots website…

Organic Cucumbers are packed with rejuvenating vitamins which soothe and soften the skin, Cucumbers also having cooling properties which help keep your skin supple and fresh.
Aloe Vera is a highly effective, naturally gentle moisturizer that is known to refresh and sooth skin.
Sweet Almond Oil is an excellent natural moisturizer that lends a soft beautiful glowing touch to your skin.

Also includes: Shea Butter, Cocoa Seed Butter, Broccoli Extract, Spinach Leaf Extract, Olive Leaf Extract, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Olive Fruit Oil, Jojoba Seed Oil, Vitamin E.

Water (Aqua), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice*, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Tocopherol, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil*, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Fruit Extract*, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract*, Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Fruit Extract*, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract*, Spinacia Oleracea (Spinach) Leaf Extract*, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract*, Sea Salt (Maris Sal), Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides, Xanthan Gum, Alcohol, Glyceryl Laurate, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance (Parfum).
*Certified Organic Ingredient
O.K. me again.
Other than the smell of cucumbers, my favorite thing about this product is that a) it contains my beauty favorite, jojoba oil (seriously, no more redness, no more blackheads – it’s a miracle!) and b) aloe vera makes it feel very cooling and soothing to put on. It’s a light, thinnish cream, which is perfect for the mornings.
I bought it at Target for about 15 bucks. Definitely worth it!
Stay tuned for some great upcoming reviews (I hope) and make sure to check back next week to see how my first DIY beauty experiments go!! And forgive my not including a picture today. I’m kind of in a rush, because the family is coming over in, like, T-minus ten minutes 🙂
2 Comments

thoughts?

