lovely thing #2: burt’s bees lip crayon in carolina coast

I’ve been hearing a lot about these new lip crayons, and couldn’t wait to give one a try! I bought the color Carolina Coast which, in the tube, looks like a mauve-pink. The packaging promises moisturizing, matte color. I’d previously bought, and loved, a couple of the Flower matte lip crayons, so was thrilled at the opportunity to try a ‘natural’ version.

Folks, I wish I could write a rave review of this product. I know lots of people love it, and it’s chock-full of jojoba oil, shea butter, and many lovely things. Unfortunately, I think I’m just too pale to pull it off. The color does NOT look like it does in the tube. It’s not a mauve-pink at all, but more of a light petal pink. My lips are very red and pigmented, and the color just looked kind of unnatural and made me look washed-out. I think it would be a nice color for those with darker skin tones, and it did feel moisturizing. Just not for me…unless I get dressed up as Twiggy for Halloween because that’s what it reminds me of…that 60s pale pink lip.

Well, you win some, you lose some!

carolina coast

One Comment

thoughts?

